Week Eight: Danish Week

My enthusiasm has definitely begun to wane now, I’m not gonna lie. This post is several weeks late, and I’ve only made one thing and not two. There’s only a couple of weeks left now, though, so let’s keep going…

Another new theme for GBBO this week: Danish Week. I had no real idea how this was going to pan out. I also ended up watching it a few days late because I was preoccupied with Making a Murderer Series 2. It was a good week but my god the bakes were obscure. A rye bread open sandwich (why not just have a closed one?!), some weird cakey/doughnutty thing, and a Danish pastry masterpiece.

I planned to do the rye bread, and attempt some Danish pastry. Turns out rye flour isn’t that easy to come by as my local supermarché didn’t have any therefore throwing that idea out of the window. I then started looking up vegan Danish pastry recipes and encountered the same issue I had when I went to attempt puff pastry – you can’t buy butter with a high enough fat content in the UK to make it work. Despite my ambitions to one day make my own, that day is not now.

And I mean obviously the aebelskiver were out; I’m not buying a specific pan for one single bake.

My future mother-in-law then brought us a bag of apples from her tree and that kind of sold me on the idea of making a cake. I Googled “danish apple cake” and found a recipe, which I made, which may or may not be Danish. It was actually really nice but I think it needed to be a taller cake. I can’t really remember how I managed to veganise it it was so long ago.

I’m going to keep this one short and sweet because I’m still quite behind!

LMJ x

Leave a comment